Exams Overview

English Exams at LEEC

Langports English Exams Centre (LEEC) is an open authorised Cambridge ESOL exam centre, as well as a public and institutional TOEIC test centre, offering Exams in Brisbane, Gold Coast & Sydney, Australia.

LEEC aims to provide quality service to all exam candidates and preparation centres in the region, offering a one-stop shop for some of the world’s most recognised and acclaimed English language proficiency examinations. LEEC aims to add more exam products to our suite of products over the coming months and years.

Currently, LEEC offers the following exam choices:

  1. Cambridge ESOL exams: CPE, CAE, FCE, PET, BEC-Vantage and BEC Higher
  2. TOEIC exam:  Reading and Listening papers

What versions of the Cambridge ESOL examinations do you offer:

Cambridge ESOL exams offers candidates the option of taking either the paper-based or computer-based versions of their suite of English langauge proficiency exams.

Langports English Exams Centre offers the computer-based version of this exam. The computer-based version does not replace the paper-based (pen and paper test); it is simply another way to take the exam. Other than the method of completing it, the exam is exactly the same, and they both lead to the same internationally recognised Cambridge ESOL certificate. Please note that there are a limited number of spaces available for computer-based exams so please enrol early to avoid disappointment.

At LEEC, candidates are given the choice of the following versions (click on the exam link for more information on each exam):

  1. Paper-based:  CPE, CAE and FCE 
  2. Computer-based:  CAE, FCE, PET, BEC-Vantage and BEC-Higher

Note:  Cambridge ESOL does not offer a computer-based version of the CPE exam.


LEEC is a public and institutional testing centre for TOEIC.  Public dates are set by TOEIC.  LEEC currently offers the Listening and Reading Test – the most commonly taken parts of the TOEIC exam.  For more information regarding the Speaking and Writing Tests, please contact LEEC.

Cambridge ESOL exam levels overview

The Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR)

Cambridge ESOL exams are aligned to the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR) for Languages.  This framework is published by the Council of Europe and is internationally recognised. The CEFR describes language ability in a scale of levels which ranges from A1 for beginners to C2 for those who have mastered a language.

The CEFR makes it easier for anyone involved in language teaching and testing such as teachers and students.  They can see the level of different qualifications. It is also very helpful for employers and educational institutions, who can easily compare qualifications and see how they relate to exams they already know in their own country.

Guided learning hours

Candidates preparing for Cambridge ESOL exams often ask how many study hours are needed to prepare for a particular examination.  There is of course no clear, scientific answer to this, as hours of study required will vary depending upon several factors such as the candidates’ language learning background, the intensity of the study, the inclinations and age of the individual as well as the amount of study/exposure outside of lesson times. The following figures are, however, sometimes quoted as an approximate guideline – please note that this table is simply a guideline and should be treated as such:


Cambridge ESOL is a founder member of ALTE (Association of Language Testers in Europe), a group of leading language testing organisations in Europe. In order to make examination results easier to understand, ALTE members have developed a series of ‘Can Do’ statements for each of the CEFR levels. These statements describe what language users can typically do with the language at different levels and in different contexts (general, social & tourist, work, study).

For example, these are the ALTE ‘Can Do’ statements for general language:

TOEIC Overview

The TOEIC (Test of English for International Communication) is the leading English test used in the world today. Whilst anyone can take the test, it is intended to be for  intermediate to advanced level English students.  TOEIC measures the ability to speak, read, and understand Business English or English used in the workplace. According to ETS, the creators of the TOEIC test, 4.5 to 6 million people a year take this exam, to get a job or advance their careers in corporations, educational institutions, or government agencies.

There are currently two different types of TOEIC tests:

  • The TOEIC Listening and Reading Test
  • The TOEIC Speaking and Writing Test

Each test is administered separately. In other words, there may be a time gap between your scheduled dates for each of the above exams.

Changes to TOEIC

Originally, the TOEIC test only consisted of a Listening and Reading test.  In 2006, changes were made in the test as offered in Japan and Korea, where the test is extremely popular.

Today, in Australia,  the classic (or older) TOEIC Listening & Speaking Test is still offered when the test is offered in-house by language schools for their own students. However, in Official or Open Public Test Sites, the New TOEIC Listening and Reading Test is offered, which is slightly different from the classic version. In addition, at Langports English Exams Centre, it is now possible to take the TOEIC Speaking and Writing Test, which is a relatively new addition.  If you are not enrolled in any study program at Langports English Language College, you will need to the NEW version of the TOEIC test.

So, if you take both the TOEIC Listening and Reading Test and the TOEIC Speaking and Writing Test, you will have been assessed in all four language skills.

Both versions of the TOEIC Listening and Writing Tests are of the same length – two hours long, while the TOEIC Speaking and Writing test is about 80 minutes long.

TOEIC Scoring

Your TOEIC score is supposed to indicate how well you can manage in English in everyday, workplace situations. TOEIC tests your ability to communicate in the four main English language skills – reading, listening, speaking and writing. To get a high score, you need to:

  • familiarize yourself with the test format
  • practice and develop the required language and academic skills
  • implement strategies and techniques to earn extra marks in the speaking and writing sections of the exam.

The score is determined by the number of correct answers, which are then converted to a scale score of 0 -200. You receive separate scores in each of the four modules – listening, reading, writing and speaking – and a fifth score, which is your overall score. Your TOEIC score is valid for up to 2 years.